SEE Whales

Whales are the largest animals that live on the planet. They are marine mammals that belong to the order of cetacea, which includes roughly 80 species of whales, dolphins, and porpoises. 

Did You Know?

  • Whales are mammals, therefore they are air-breathing with lungs, nurse their young, are warm-blooded, and have hair (in very small amounts).
  • Whales are widely distributed around the globe, and are found in all oceans.
  • Many species of whales migrate long distances each year between feeding and breeding grounds. 
  • Whales are divided up between baleen whales and toothed whales. Baleen whales are filter feeders, feeding on the oceans smallest organisms like krill, while toothed whales feed on fish, squid, and other marine mammals.
  • Whales are in the Cetacean Order, which also includes dolphins and porpoises.

What Is SEEtheWILD?

We're a non-profit organization that promotes conservation travel through wildlife tours that help protect endangered species. We work with quality tour operators who have passed our criteria to ensure low environmental impact. 

Want to see whales? Contact us for more information.

Featured Whale Conservation Tours

Photo credit: Jandirkhansen/Dreamstime